WSPTA State-Level Awards FRIEND OF CHILDREN RECIPIENT LIST



The WSPTA Friend of Children Award recognizes and honors an individual or organization for state-level dedication to all children through service aligned with WSPTA's vision and mission supporting the welfare, health, safety and/or education of Washington state's children.

- 2024 Representative Sharon Tomiko Santos
- 2023 Washington Community Engagement
- 2022 Representative Laurie Dolan
- 2021 Office of Education Ombuds
- 2020 Representative Pat Sullivan
- 2018 Senator Christine Rolfes
- 2017 Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction
- 2015 Tom Ahearne
- 2013 Mary Jean Ryan
- 2012 Stephanie and Matthew McCleary & Family
- 2011 Representative Marcie Maxwell
- 2011 Representative Bruce Dammeier
- 2010 Representative Pat Sullivan
- 2010 Representative Skip Priest
- 2009 Representative Ruth Kagi
- 2008 Attorney General Rob McKenna
- 2007 Lisa McFarlane
- 2006 Senator Rosemary McAuliffe
- 2006 Representative Dave Quall
- 2005 Senator Patty Murray
- 2004 Pamela Eakes
- 2003 Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation
- 2002 The Children's Alliance
- 2001 Christine Gregoire
- 2001 Partnership for Learning
- 2000 Governor Gary Locke

- 1998 Dr. Larry Swift
- 1997 Dr. Terry Bergenson
- 1996 Washington Mutual
- 1996 Marc Gaspard
- 1994 KLSY's Teddy Bear Patrol
- 1992 Senator Cliff Bailey