January 29, 2024

Self-declare Window Now Open for Vacant WSPTA Board Positions

There are currently two vacancies on the Washington State PTA (WSPTA) Board of Directors: Advocacy Director and Area D Vice President. Delegates at the 2024 WSPTA Convention will vote to fill these vacancies.

On January 21, 2024, the WSPTA Nominating Committee filed its report and placed the following name in nomination for the remainder of the 2023-2025 term:

Susan Baird-Joshi for Advocacy Director

The Nominating Committee also sought a candidate for the vacant position of Area D Vice President but did not return a name to be placed into nomination.

You may access the Nominating Committee report here.

Per WSPTA policy, the publishing of the WSPTA Nominating Committee report opens a 15-day window during which any qualified candidate may self-declare to run for either of the below vacant positions.

Advocacy Director

Area D Vice President

Please use this form to officially self-declare. The deadline is February 15, 2024, at 11:59 p.m extended through March 15, 2024 at 3:00 p.m.


We seek individuals of varied backgrounds and experiences who reflect our state’s population. PTA members meeting the eligibility requirements below are invited to self-declare their candidacy.

Advocacy Director
  • Must be a member of a local PTA.
  • Shall have served on the WSPTA Board of Directors for at least one year, or on the WSPTA Advocacy Committee for at least one year, or as a local PTA or council officer (specifically in an advocacy/legislative position) for two separate PTA fiscal years.

Area Vice President

  • Must be a member of a local PTA.
  • Shall have served on the WSPTA board of directors for at least one year, or as a region director for at least one year, or as a council president for two years, or on a region service committee (formerly service delivery team) for two years.
  • Must reside within the geographic area to be represented.

Area D covers Regions 3, 4, 11, and 12, which include the following localities:

  • Region 3 – Clark, Cowlitz, Skamania, and Wahkiakum counties. It also includes the Lyle, Trout Lake, and White Salmon school districts of Klickitat County.
  • Region 4 – Grays Harbor, Lewis (except Morton School District), Mason (except the North Mason school district), Pacific, and Thurston counties.
  • Region 11 – Chelan, Douglas, Kittitas, Klickitat (except the Lyle, Trout Lake, and White Salmon school districts, which are in Region 3), and Yakima counties.
  • Region 12 – Adams, Asotin, Benton, Columbia, Franklin, Ferry, Garfield, Grant, Lincoln, Okanogan, Pend Oreille, Spokane, Stevens, Whitman, and Walla Walla counties.


Category: Governance

Back to Blog